Cloud Atlas (Enhanced Movie Tie-in Edition)

Book Cloud Atlas (Enhanced Movie Tie-in Edition)

Cloud Atlas (Enhanced Movie Tie-in Edition) Book Details:

Publisher : Random House Group

ISBN-13 : 0812984420

Page : 522 pages

Rating : 4.5/5 from 420 voters




By the New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Clocks | Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize This enhanced eBook edition contains never-before-seen footage from the major motion picture, behind-the-scenes material shot during production, and interviews with the author, directors (Tom Tykwer, Andy Wachowski, and Lana Wachowski), and actors (including Tom Hanks, Halle Berry, Hugh Grant, Hugo Weaving, and James D’Arcy) discussing both the book and the film.* A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity. Cloud Atlas begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite. . . . Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter. . . . From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life. . . . And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day England; to a Korean superstate of the near future where neocapitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a postapocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history. But the story doesn’t end even there. The narrative then boomerangs back through centuries and space, returning by the same route, in reverse, to its starting point. Along the way, Mitchell reveals how his disparate characters connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky. As wild as a videogame, as mysterious as a Zen koan, Cloud Atlas is an unforgettable tour de force that, like its incomparable author, has transcended its cult classic status to become a worldwide phenomenon. Praise for Cloud Atlas “[David] Mitchell is, clearly, a genius. He writes as though at the helm of some perpetual dream machine, can evidently do anything, and his ambition is written in magma across this novel’s every page.”—The New York Times Book Review “One of those how-the-holy-hell-did-he-do-it? modern classics that no doubt is—and should be—read by any student of contemporary literature.”—Dave Eggers “Wildly entertaining . . . a head rush, both action-packed and chillingly ruminative.”—People “The novel as series of nested dolls or Chinese boxes, a puzzle-book, and yet—not just dazzling, amusing, or clever but heartbreaking and passionate, too. I’ve never read anything quite like it, and I’m grateful to have lived, for a while, in all its many worlds.”—Michael Chabon “Cloud Atlas ought to make [Mitchell] famous on both sides of the Atlantic as a writer whose fearlessness is matched by his talent.”—The Washington Post Book World *Video may not play on all readers. Please check your user manual for details.

More Books:

Cloud Atlas (Enhanced Movie Tie-in Edition)
Language: en
Pages: 522
Authors: David Mitchell
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-10-09 - Publisher: Random House Group

By the New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Clocks | Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize This enhanced eBook edition contains never-before-seen footag
Cloud Atlas
Language: en
Pages: 514
Authors: David Mitchell
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2004 - Publisher: Random House Incorporated

Recounts the connected stories of people from the past and the distant future, from a nineteenth-century notary and an investigative journalist in the 1970s to
The Vanishing Type
Language: en
Pages: 306
Authors: Ellery Adams
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-04-26 - Publisher: Kensington Cozies

Perfect for fans of Kate Quinn, Kristin Harmel, and Pam Jenoff, this new historical fiction novel from an acclaimed author is based on true WWII stories of life
Cloud Atlas - Export Film Tie-in
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: David Mitchell
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012 - Publisher:

Gender, Race, and American Science Fiction
Language: en
Pages: 236
Authors: Jason Haslam
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-05-08 - Publisher: Routledge

This book focuses on the interplay of gender, race, and their representation in American science fiction, from the nineteenth-century through to the twenty-firs
Literature After Globalization
Language: en
Pages: 208
Authors: Philip Leonard
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-02-14 - Publisher: A&C Black

Choice Outstanding Academic Title 2014 Literature after Globalization offers a detailed study of recent literary and theoretical responses to technology, global
Ben-Hur
Language: en
Pages: 928
Authors: Jon Solomon
Categories: Performing Arts
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-04-15 - Publisher: Edinburgh University Press

Ben-Hur was the first literary blockbuster to generate multiple and hugely profitable adaptations, highlighted by the 1959 film that won a record-setting 11 Osc
Beckett in Popular Culture
Language: en
Pages: 208
Authors: P.J. Murphy
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-12-09 - Publisher: McFarland

What do Bono, Seinfeld and Apple have in common? Nothing. However, it's the nothing of Samuel Beckett, which is something. Bold and provocative, Beckett's works
Annual Report of the World Meteorological Organization
Language: en
Pages: 212
Authors: World Meteorological Organization
Categories: Meteorology
Type: BOOK - Published: 1959 - Publisher:

Consuming Books
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Stephen Brown
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2006-04-18 - Publisher: Routledge

The buying, selling, and writing of books is a colossal industry in which marketing looms large, yet there are very few books which deal with book marketing (ho